Aug. 6th, 2003

BC fears.

Aug. 6th, 2003 12:37 am
[identity profile] thatdirtyblonde.livejournal.com
last year, i was on lunelle shots for BC. when it was discontinued, i was so upset because i loved it and had no negative side effects from it.

PP put me on ortho-cyclen instead, and it was SO horrible. i had the worst mood swings ever. i don't mean anything minor either - i would wake up angry and ten minutes later i'd be weeping on the floor for HOURS, literally. eventually i attempted suicide.

at that point, those evil little pills went flush.



now that i'm feeling better (and i really did feel better within about two weeks of stopping the pills) and it's been several months, i'm starting to think about getting back on some form of non-barrier BC. i'm not opposed to being on something hormonal, but i am understandable leery of trying because of all the trouble i had last time.

and i know about low-dose pills and such, but mostly i am just NOT interested in having even a month of those mood swings again. feeling like killing yourself all the time is a scary feeling that i don't want to revisit for even a day.

i was thinking that, because i had no trouble with lunelle, there might be a place where i can compare ingredients and hormones and find a pill that is the MOST similiar to lunelle, and therefore have the least risk in trying it out. i thought there was a website before that listed different BCs and what they contained.

any suggestions?
[identity profile] lyssiek.livejournal.com
Is it possible that a woman DOESNT HAVE a hymen?

I've had sex 2 times, and used a vibrater and dildo weekly for at least a year..and I've never bled during any of these times. I also never bled while riding a bike or anything like that..and I highly doubt a tampon did the trick..I think I was born without one or something..
[identity profile] punk-is-so-dead.livejournal.com
Can taking Diflucan affect oral contraceptives? I was on Diflucan last week, just for one day, and I'm also on birth control. I was supposed to get my period, but it's late, and I wasn't sure if that had anything to do with it.
[identity profile] starkyld.livejournal.com
(more-or-less crossposted from [livejournal.com profile] clitoriphiles. not so much of a question, more just an observation to mention...)

has anyone else ever noticed any libido-inhibitory effects of different medications?

years & years ago, i was on an ssri (prozac, specifically, but they all have similar mechanisms of action) & noticed that my interest in sex just plummeted through the floor.

but now i'm on wellbutrin instead, which tends to increase libido in most patients... )
[identity profile] carebeardork.livejournal.com
i recently got put on the pill and i have a few questions.
Is it necessary to still use a condom?
and if not
Is it necessary for my boyfriend to pull out?
tree: a figure clothed in or emerging from bark (Default)
[personal profile] tree
i just heard on the radio that glaxo smith kline are looking for women in good health between 18 & 50 who are taking birth control. (they actually said at one point who use birth control, but i presume they mean hormonal birth control.) i didn't catch the number to call, and i can't find any info on their website. but i just thought i'd post a heads-up in case anyone is interested in participating, and also because i'm interested in what they're actually trialling. so if anyone has any more info, please do tell.
[identity profile] dearanxiety.livejournal.com
so, i got myself to the doctor yesterday after almost a week of pain that was pretty unusual to me. turns out i had an ovarian cyst that burst. fine. it'll be absorbed into my body and all will be ok.

i'm just wondering if anyone else has had this, and if so how long it took for the pain to subside? i'm picking up a painkiller prescription this evening...but i really hate to use them for long.

thanks so much.
[identity profile] infiniteamanda.livejournal.com
Hey, ladies and gents.
It's sort of awkward posting this.. but i can't go asking around and you all seem to know what you're talking about :)

I know another girl just posted a similar question.. but I masturbate [fairly] often, a few times a week. I don't have a boyfirned [reason #1] and I'm looking for new ways to do things. I'm under-age, so it's a little more difficult for me. But annny suggestions would be sooo appreciated.

Thank you!
[identity profile] bigfatkitty.livejournal.com
I have NEVER EVER had real yeast infection problems. Everytime I start to get a little red or itchy, I apply a paste of baking soda and water, and it goes away.

....

NOT THIS TIME!!! After not being on any kind of antibiotics for like 2 years now, I was put on 500 mg of Amoxicillian 3 times a day. That's 1500mg!! And it totally messed me up (at least this is my suspicion) I have had discharge and TERRIBLE TERRIBLE itching for the last 5 days or so. I have never in my 23 years had to deal with something like this, I am ready to cry. My inner labia has bled off and on just from being so tender. The itching is making me absolutely crazy, I want to scream. Are there any instant itch relief things I could do? My baking soda treatment is not working. I am on Ortho Tri Cyclen, just started back on the white pills today, and I stopped taking the antibiotic last week, I'd rather have strep than this!! waahhh!!!
[identity profile] mangofandango.livejournal.com
Does anyone have any suggestions on how to reach my cervix/check my IUD strings if I'm having trouble?

We decided we wanted to try checking the strings on my new IUD today. So we got all washed up, and I felt around first and couldn't get very far (I have small hands, and my fingers didn't seem to reach). So then Ryan tried - his hands are definently bigger - but he couldn't find anything either. We can't even tell what we're feeling, really.

Oh, and my cervix should be low, as far as I know, because I got my period on Sunday and I'm mostly done bleeding now, although I am spotting from the IUD still.

I'm thinking I might look in to getting a speculum if we can't figure this out.

Thanks for any help you can give me!
[identity profile] dafadddu.livejournal.com
I hate shaving.

I really do.

My skin is so sensitive that shaving hurts and itches and dries out my skin horribly. Luckily hubby doesn't mind too much, but still.

I hate the way society makes me feel like I should be embarrassed for being what I naturally am. I have hair. It is not nasty, ugly, or dirty. It's. Just. Hair. Get over it.

Well, that's what I tell myself anyway!

Still, I feel extremely embarrassed about is sometimes. Such as the day I twisted my knee at work and had to have a first aid person look at it. Pull up pant's leg, reveal hair! I even appologized for gods' sakes!

Really, how many women out there refuse to shave? And how many people out there look down on a woman who doesn't? Why are men allowed to have hair but women aren't?

I like to keep things tidy around my vulva, but the fullblown shave legs every 2 days just do not appeal to me. Plus, I wear jeans 99.99999% of the time so no one but hubby sees.

Why is it socially unnacceptable for a woman not to shave? And why must society make those women feel inferior for not being "real women"?

I mean, who REALLY cares about who has how much hair? Can we really get away with wearing dresses, or should be just hide in the house?

Grr. I am all woman no matter how much hair I have or don't have. Why does everyone have an issue with that?

(Pardon the ranting, this is just something that really pisses me off sometimes.)


edit: LJ won't let me post replies for some reason, so i wanna say thanks for the hair support! As soon as LJ lets me post replies again I'll get back to you individually
[identity profile] freak41.livejournal.com
help?
I was talking to my friend, and, she was telling me, that whenever she goes to the bathroom, and she wipes, there is always a little bit of blood. and, she says she has to pee like, every 10 minutes or so. does anyone know what it could be? she's going to the doctors soon, to get checked out.

im just looking for some info, or help, to let her know about wat it could be.

thanks <3
[identity profile] hedy.livejournal.com
So-I bought a sea sponge-but it's round and 4 inches across. What size should I cut it to?
[identity profile] xxlavenderxx.livejournal.com

Is it safe to use both a condom and be on the pill? Would it be "extra safe" or should I just use condoms, because I'm worried about just taking the pill alone.

Thank you for any help.
[identity profile] spin-doctor.livejournal.com
cross-posted to [livejournal.com profile] amipregnant

ok i have a rather complicated situation. i was on the pill (levlen) for two years. then i was a dumbass i made an appointment for my yearly pap late and didnt get into the gyno till two weeks after i finished my last pack. anyway, a few days before seeing the doctor, i had unprotected sex with my boyfriend (my period lasts wednesday-saturday, we had sex sunday and monday). i thought it would be ok since id been on the pill so long and i was at a time in my cycle considered to be "least fertile." (you know, since youre on placebos for the week youre menstruating, im thinking its ok)

anyway, i saw the doctor, got my new pills and went on my way, but i cant (couldnt) start the new pack until the sunday following my next period. the problem is, according the regularity ive had for the past two years, my period should have started today.

im kind of thinking that my period is a little irregular cause i stopped the pill briefly, but part of me is really scared.

what do you ladies think?

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526 2728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags