Aug. 4th, 2003

[identity profile] industrialskank.livejournal.com
I've gotten my period 3 times in the span of 25 days! =(
[identity profile] aallinyte.livejournal.com
Hello ladies

I tried looking for this topic in previous entries, but its after 2 in the morning and sleep is starting to make my eyes go weird. I just had one (simple?) little question: I'm currently on Aleese (not sure of spelling) 27 day pills for bad cramps and I'm really shit at taking the pills the same time every day I was wondering if anyone knows if the patch works for cramps at all? Any info would be great as I'm going to see my doc on Wed and if the patch works I might tlak to him about switching. Thanks in advance. Oh and thanks for all the advice on my last question, the chamomile tea worked very well. :D

~Robyn
[identity profile] lilredfh.livejournal.com
Hi, I've been trying to find some information all over the place but no luck and thought that maybe there is someone from Connecticut here (no one in CT community could help me) who knows where they perform Brazilian wax (preferably in Meriden area but I'm willing to drive all over Connecticut) I called all the spas from yellow pages and they treated me like some freak and couldn't tell if anyone else does it.
So if you can help, THANKS a lot, if not - I'm sorry to bother.
Have happy vaginas ladies!
[identity profile] -hjarta.livejournal.com
Advice? )

BC chart

Aug. 4th, 2003 04:18 pm
[identity profile] allypopsicle.livejournal.com
i tried to hunt through the archives, but to no avail.

my friend was asking about the differences between birth controls and .. if one makes you gain a lot of weight, which one you can switch to. i remember seeing a link to that chart before on here, and i was wondering if anyone could leave me the link to it.

thanks!

[identity profile] ketchonade.livejournal.com
FDA to decide on new pill that would cut down number of cycles in year. )

What do you all feel about this? I got it from the feminist community, which is proving to me that it is not a very cunt-lovin community, especially the person who posted it. I had an arguement with her here and it doesn't seem like she's going to let down or even listen. I would click the "here" link, for then you get my portion of the arguement. How do you feel about this? I want some cunt-lovin ideas on this.

Oh, and here's a link to the actual article.
[identity profile] mangofandango.livejournal.com
I had my Mirena IUD inserted this afternoon, and since several people expressed interest in hearing about it, I am here to report to you. :)

The office ordered it for me, and they called today to let me know it had arrived. I had gotten my period yesterday, so I went in at 3. My husband came with me (I should mention that I asked my doctor about this the second time I met with her, and she said it would be fine to have him come along and besides, she said, "he's kinda cool!" ;)). The nurse had me use the bathroom first, then had me undress from the waist down and sit there while we waited for the doctor. The doctor had asked me to take 800 mg of ibuprofen before coming in, so when she came in she checked to make sure I had done that. She had me sign a consent form while she set stuff up, and then she showed us everything she'd be using.

First, she inserted a speculum, and used iodine to help 'clean' my vagina and cervix. That felt kind of cold, and then it burned a little. Then she put in the uterine sound to measure my uterus. That was uncomfortable, it hurt a lot going through my cervix and gave me a very intense cramp. (At this point, I was squeezing both of Ryan's hands - that helped a lot. :)) My uterus is 7 cm, which is within the right range - I was really going to be upset if I went through all this only to find my uterus was too small! She gave me a minute at this point and waited for the cramps to subside.

Then came the insertion of the Mirena. That was the worst part. To be honest, it really hurt a lot, but not in a searing pain kind of way - as you would probably expect, it was a very, very intense cramp. I tried very hard to breathe slowly, and that seemed to help. Luckily, it didn't hurt like that very long, after a minute or so the cramps became more like the ones I used to have when I had very painful periods. I assume what I felt when the IUD was inserted might have been like a contraction, but I don't really know. :) She had me stay lying down for a minute, then sit for a while. She got me some water, and Ryan helped me get dressed.I was shaky and the cramps were pretty intense, but I was okay walking down to the car, and after the ride home (bumpy roads are NOT your friend right after an insertion!) I lay down for an hour and a half or so, and the cramps subsided a lot.

Now I'm still cramping some, but it's not nearly so painful - it's more like normal period cramps, just a little more constant. My cramps seem to be a little more to one side now, and that worries me a little, but it feels like it could be just gas or something - I'll keep an eye on it for a few days and see how it goes. I'm supposed to take 800mg of ibuprofen every 8 hours for the next few days, and she prescribed me some Vicodin in case I need it or have trouble sleeping because of the cramps (I might use it tonight, but I don't really see it being needed by tomorrow night, based on how much better I feel after a few hours). I also have to go back in 5 weeks so she can check it and see how I'm doing with it. She advised us to use backup protection for at least 2 weeks (she recommended a full cycle, ideally). Is this about what other people's doctors told them? I'm just curious.

I'd also like to mention that I am really glad I went with this doctor. She seemed much more gentle and understanding about pain and even mild discomfort than many other doctors I've seen, and she was really nice and informative. She respected my choice to do this and treated me like I knew what I was talking about, which was really nice, and she also did a great job of including my husband in the whole process. I'm really happy about that.

So, I'm off to lay around a little more. I hope this is helpful to people - please ask if you want to know anything, I tried to be thorough but I'm still a little pained, so bear with me. ;) Thanks for all your help with making this decision too. :)

Oh baby

Aug. 4th, 2003 07:29 pm
[identity profile] ihavepms.livejournal.com
Okay, I have 2 questions for you ladies. One serious, one not so much.

1. I have been sexually active for 4 years but haven't yet found the courage to go for a pap smear. My main problem is not knowing what to expect. Does it hurt? What exactly does the proceedure consist of? What instruments do they use.... etc etc. I am extremely uncomfortable with the idea of pap smears, but I also know it's important for me to get one. So if I know what to expect, fear of the unknown can be ruled out and I get get my pap with my head held high. Or as high as you can hold your head whilst lying on your back :)

And finally, Earlier this week I accidentally forgot to take my pill. I only missed the one, and that was on Friday. Unfortunately, I didn't realise I'd forgotten to take it until Saturday night, AFTER having sex with my live-in boyfriend. Naturally we didn't use a condom, as I'm on the pill. So in a panic, I took both pills, and crossed my fingers. Since then, we have been using condoms and will continue to do so until I get my period. Which should be in about 8 days. Of course, I don't know if I can wait that long to find out.

So what I really want to know is how high my chance of pregnancy is. I have been feeling sick, lightheaded, and experienceing severe appetite loss for the past 2 days. Could this just be nerves, or am I most likely pregnant? Also, how soon can you tell if you are in fact pregnant? Will an at home test be accurate or should I wait a few more days? I'm so confused. I've never really had to worry about anything like this.

Any info would be much appreciated.............. thanks in advance.
[identity profile] aeryn42.livejournal.com
I used to be on ortho tricyclen. When I was on it it did nothing to clear up my skin or clear excess facial hair growth. Now that I'm off of it altogether for almost 2 months now, my skin is getting much *much* worse than it ever was even before I took OTC.

Has anyone experienced this? Does anyone know the cause? And better yet, does anyone know how to fix it?
[identity profile] cray0lapoet.livejournal.com
Hey there, I am new here... have a question!
I was wondering, when I wear tampons I always have to wear a mini pad with them or there is leaks. Is this normal or is something wrong with me? I know a lot of women don't have to wear mini pads and it seems kind of like an inconvenience.
thanks all!!!
[identity profile] americanbeauty.livejournal.com
I was talking to some friends of mine about vagina pagina goodness and the education I've gotten from the member here and we got to talking about vulva appearence.

There was a large discussion (or several large discussions rather) about women's feelings toward their vulvas and if they were "normal" or not. An educational-like website was posted that had tons of pictures of vulvas in a not sexual fashion. They were all lined up and if memory serves correct, they were really the only thing on the page. Does anyone know what I am talking about that can send me the link?

I appreciate all of you so much!!
[identity profile] prettytheworld.livejournal.com
I think I might have another yeast infection, and I am just fed up and frustrated.

Last month I had a yeast infection that didn't go away with regular over-the-counter treatment, so I went to the doctor's on the 15th and she prescribed me some super-duper powerful medication to use (I don't remember the name of it). It was a seven-day cream, so I used it for the full seven days as recommended. With two days of the treatment left, I got my period. Made things a bit messy, but I continued as normal. My period ended, and then a few days after I got to spend the weekend with my long-distance boyfriend, and we had sex a few times, but I always peed afterwards (I know that's more for UTI prevention, but anyways) and cleaned up. Now it's a week later and I think I have another yeast infection!! I seem to have the same symptoms as I usually do (lots of yellow discharge, a little itchiness, and much soreness), but there's no bread-like smell like usual. I don't understand how I could have gotten another infection so soon after my last-- I haven't taken any antibiotics that could have caused it, I've worn 100% cotton undies like normal, no tight pants, and I've been taking my Pill like usual. So what's up?

I really don't want to have to go to the doctor's again, because last time was a huge hassle to get an appointment, etc. Should I just get some over-the-counter medication and hope it clears up? And any recommendations for good brands and such? Last time I bought a generic Rite Aid brand, but if anyone can recommend anything better, I'd be up for it. Thanks!

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526 2728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags