Oct. 2nd, 2002

[identity profile] tigerfemme.livejournal.com
I had my appointment with the gyn last night to discuss my lengthened cycles and the physical/emotional problems they seem to be causing. He did a quick internal check, the "pressing from inside and out" thing to check ovaries and uterus - he said, save the Pap smear for February, and that there's nothing wrong inside. "Get dressed and go wait in my office; we'll talk," he said.

So I did, and when he got back I said "Wanting to say this, is strange for me, but I feel like I should apologize for being a hypochondriac! It's just that this extended PMS is driving me nuts physically and mentally!" Now, it's really unlike me to say I think I'm being a hypochondriac - years dealing with doctors and fibromyalgia has taught me this - but I'm very comfortable with this doctor; he takes me and I'm sure all of his patients seriously; doesn't pooh-hoo problems as "all in your head."

He pushed a pamphlet on PMS/PMDD across the desk at me. He noted that I'm not a hypochondriac; that this is very real stuff. Apparently, according to him, what's happening is that my cycle seems to be going from 28-29 days to about 35-37 days, my ovulation is happening later into the cycle, and my hormones are thus out of whack. He says this can affect all sorts of brain
chemicals that influence mood and physical health too, like seratonin and epinephrine. (I didn't know about the latter playing a factor in all that. I also know that seratonin is a major influence on fibromyalgia symptoms.)

He said there's two ways to go here..."There's a pill called Serafem..."

I gave him a look. (I used to work in a psychiatric hospital and then a psych crisis unit, you see.)

"Well, actually it's Prozac," he continued.

I grinned. "I know. You can say Prozac, I have no problem with Prozac." *laugh*

"Ok, so there's that, and there's also something by the makers of Zoloft; it's a pill you take only during the week or so you're having mood-related issues." I said that was very interesting; I've never known an antidepressant that you could take "every so often" like that.

I also noted I've had my experience with antidepressants when they were trying to rule out "clinical depression" as a cause of my pain - it was a savvy psychiatrist that figured out the true issue, by the way - and I didn't like the side effects of any of the antidepressants/antianxiety drugs. They made me hyper, caused weight gain, just made me feel "off." (I didn't mention the sexual dysfunction and the fact they killed my ability to write creatively - the former is a known side effect, the latter doesn't make sense!)

He said "Ok. You don't have to do that or many any decision on it any time soon. The other option is a low-dose Pill." I told him I'd prefer that if I took anything. He said "Ok. There's (Ova-something), I'll write you a 'scrip for that that you can hold on to or use right away." I noted I took Desogen during graduate school, but that's likely not a low-dose pill. He said "oh, actually it is," and wrote me a scrip for that. He agreed, though, with my wanting to first try treating all this natropathically if possible. He said B-vitamins are key, especially B6 since it's a diuretic (I'm doing that already), and "green tea."

I gave him another (bemused) look. :) "Green tea? Really?"

"Yes. It's in my mug right now." He showed me his Viagra promotional mug and grinned. "It's not Viagra in there. It's green tea."

I said "I hope it's not Viagra unless you expect to see your wife REAL SOON." *giggle* (This guy has the best sense of humor...is also understanding, listens well, takes time with his patients, is very competent medically, and is so good at exams - he's gentler than any female gyn I've had, and I joke to myself that he's an expert at the "pinch-free Pap smear.")

Anyway, so that's the deal. I hope to stay off the Pill but the option is there, at least. I'm trying the natropathics first - putting another drug into my current "arsenal" isn't really what I want, nor is taking another hormone (I already take thyroid hormones). I'm crossing my fingers I can avoid that.
[identity profile] erynchrista.livejournal.com
Question: I'm only 20 years old, but it seems like lately....I've been experiencing a few hot flashes. Especially at night. I try to keep my room cool, but it happens frequently. I've tried doing online searchings about it, but I keep coming up for information on woman with menopause! I doubt that I'm dealing with that....

Could it be because I was sick lately and am still trying to fight off infection? (like a fever here and there)...Or is it quite possible that I could be having hot flashes due to hormones?

Yikes. I need advice before I get all worried about nothing.
[identity profile] sidndnancy.livejournal.com
If a hyman's broken in a forest and no one's around to see it happen, are you still a virgin?

If a hyman is broken in a forest and no one's around to hear it, does it make a sound?? *vaudville horn*
[identity profile] maze-mistress.livejournal.com
Hello Gina ladies...

I was looking at the merchandise and I found a shirt i absolutly love except it only comes in a tee-shirt I was wondering if there was anyway a person could make a special order of a t-shirt design in a sweatshirt???


PLEASE SAY THERE IS
[identity profile] ravenfyre.livejournal.com
is there any sort of danger in having an orgasm with your keeper in? just wonderin'...
[identity profile] bluesparklezzz.livejournal.com
Question.
I dont know if anyone ever asked this before so I will just ask.
I notice, after my period is gone, i have REALLY terrible pains in my lower back, and sometimes in the front as well. Sometimes they are so unbearable. They usually go away after a few minutes, but once in a while I will freak out, mainly because I dont know if it is normal. Does this happen to anyone?
Thanks

instead

Oct. 2nd, 2002 11:13 pm
[identity profile] darthfuzz.livejournal.com
i just thought i'd share: today is my first day ever using instead. it feels so good, and so free!
[identity profile] harpseal.livejournal.com
'ello girls :)

I have just started reading CUNT, and it is really good so far... like 10 pages in. One thing that strikes me that i need to express to yall.... "Womankind is varied and Vast. But we all have cunts." : ) I like that.... I like that alot.

On another note, I was parusing the Local Barns and Noble, and I picked up a Magazine called "BITCH: Feminist response to pop culture." How many of you read this? It has ads for woman-friendly porn and and all kinda of awesome stuff. they have a web site www.bitchmagazine.com I'm really enjoying it so far. Anyone else have comments on it?

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526 2728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags