Feb. 5th, 2002

[identity profile] sophiasophia.livejournal.com
OKay....

So....Went to the gyno today.....she is a new dr. for me...
She does all the normal questions and such....and I answer...
You know how drs. are....sort of interested...but want the shortened version.

So ... first speculum she inserts....she digs a bit and it is not so bad....she tells me she has to take out this one and use a bigger one....bigger one goes in...actually feels better, she tells me my cervix looks a bit irritated. Isn't all women's cervix's irritated at some point in the month for one reason or another?
So she does, finishes the pap smear ,,,,roll's away from me to the counter to write some stuff down and she continues to talk to me.....
I sit there for a minute.....and in my mind....I am thinking...."is this all"
I ask her if she took samples for STD checking. And she says to me...
"why would we need to get you checked for anything? you have been married to the same man for 6 years..."

So here it goes.....I have to tell her....that my husband and I do not actually lead a straight monogamous lifestyle. she sort of screeches out....."you use condoms right??"
this is where I start to sound even more ignorant....
"no my husband and I do not use condoms, and yes I have used condoms, but not always"
very vague answer.....
Dr's. response...."husband and you having issues?' I say no....we are just not..."what is the word I am looking for?" she responds with...."monogamous!" ... exactly.....
So....she rolls back over to me and helps me to lay back again, and puts another speculum in. Does the STD swab....and then continues to lecture me about the use of condoms and being responsible. I just feel sort of stupid and low now. which is entirely deserved considering the situations.

I respect all of your opinions .... but please spare me the lecture of...."you have sex outside of your husband! and you do not ALWAYS use condoms!" or the marriage is sacred thing either.....because I have my own views on this whole monogamous culture we are puzzle pieced in too....I know the responsibility that comes with all of this too.....I have no excuse...just a bit of shame and complete and utter feeling of dumb when I think about the one or two times I have not used a condom.

I am going to planned parenthood to get HIV tested tomorrow morning. I do this every 2 years....have ever since I was 16 and started having sex. But still.....I hate doing it. I hate that sick feeling I get .. and anxiety and fears about getting HIV tested. I hate that feeling of wanting to continue to walk around ignorant and not getting tested regularly. but then I try to remind myself....that is ONE of the ways diseases gets spread. So....tomorrow I go and I get tested. I also hate that feeling of....this makes up for being too fucking passionate and willing.

I just wanted to share. Needed to share.
[identity profile] gezellig-girl.livejournal.com
Okay, mid-cycle spotting for someone who never has it - an early sign of pregnancy or not? I say, no - it's just an odd cycle, but I was talking to someone who thinks it's a sign of implantation into the lining of the uterus. I can't seem to find any info backing up either one of our statements. Can anyone just point me in the right direction as to where to look something like this up?
[identity profile] storyofagurl.livejournal.com
Hello I'm new..
teehee..
I'm Petal , 19 lesbian from New York..

Here is my issue for today..
I just got my period..After not having it for over 8 months..
and I am bleeding like not really heavy..but not really light either..
It's and on off day..
But anyhow, so , I have been feeling very very depressed since I got it..
And it's been here almost 5 days I think..maybe less..maybe 4..
So I don't know if this is normal..
I mean, the cramps are really unbearing..
They make me want to just cry or be held by my girlfriend..
Just anything to make all this nasty pain go away..
Also I cain't stand the smell..I cain't stand any smell..
But this smell is just weird..
*sighs*
Well hope everyone say a good day..
teehee..

Petal:)
[identity profile] thebluestar98.livejournal.com
is cloudy urine a symptom of anything?

*wonders*
[identity profile] duckygurl.livejournal.com
Well, i never get periods. My mom comes to town during the most emotional week of my life, and on top of everything, i start bleeding mid cycle. Cramps. Moodiness. Tender Breasts and upset stomach. This also makes me MORE of an emotional wreck.
It's not fair, we lived together for 5 years after i got my first period and not once did we ever have the same cycle.
I'm aggrevated.
I just thought i'd vent.
[identity profile] nuwanda-1998.livejournal.com
Okay all you Keeper using ladies in the immediate area! I have a question regarding my new keeper. This is my first period using this device, and so far I like it and all is going relatively well, but what I want to know is how do you deal with emptying, rinsing, reinsterting this aparatus in a public bathroom where there are several stalls and the sinks are in a communal area?

Also, I seem to be experiencing more cramping than I typically do with my cycle... has anyone else experienced increased cramping while using the Keeper, or could this just be a coincidence?
[identity profile] hissyfit.livejournal.com
two days of parsley tea and no sign of my menses. how long does it usually take?
[identity profile] erinpinkhair.livejournal.com
I had a wonderful talk in my women's studies class. We spent the entire day talking about menstration. It was so beautiful having a group of 28 women and one male talk about the female cycle.

One girl in the class brought up something every appauling. Apparently on the Today show 2 summers ago they had a panel of all male doctors who had figured out a way from women not to have their period anymore. They thought women shouldn't have their period because it's "unnatural". Funny how something that happens to women everywhere for thousands/millions of years isn't natural.

My teacher mentioned to us that when she went through menapause she actually wept for her period back.

Another thing we discussed was how PMS is considered a figment of a women's imagination to the psychology world. I remember reading this last semester and I was appauled..after further discussion today I wish I would have been able to speak up and say that "something that everyone woman feels isn't real.. we just imagine the change in emotions and physical pains.

I think it would be interesting to find out who these doctors are and perhaps, send them a list of all the reasons why this is NATURAL.

when I was in my WST class today I just wanted to tell everyone to read the book CUNT. It's so enlightening and I think my teacher had even read it.. she was saying words and ideas that appeared to come strait from the book.

OH yes.. another interesting point. PMS.. prementral syndrome. Syndrome's are a list of alements to a disease... I guess the word PMS shouldn't really be used any longer because, I dunno bout you, but I'm def not diseased because I menstrate.. What's another word we could call it??
[identity profile] thebluestar98.livejournal.com
hey ladies!

i dont post much, but i just want to say that i love this community, its really so great to see womyn so supportive of each other, it makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside :D this is really how it should be!!!

peace and peaches!
{{{{{vagainapaginacommunity}}}}}}

NuvaRing?

Feb. 5th, 2002 11:48 pm
[identity profile] sophiasophia.livejournal.com
I made this long post yesterday about my gyno visit.
Which by the way....I appreciate everyone's words and advice and views responding to my post.

Sooo...I made that long post and I forgot the mention the ONE thing I wanted to chat with all of you about.


Have any of you ever read or heard anything about the NuvaRing? My Dr. offered this to me at my visit. It is a new method of BC. She is one of the drs. participating in the early stages of distributing this birth control. I accepted her offer. And her office will be calling me in a month to get me in to learn how to use it.

Of course I have a month to change my mind. I have not gotten to far with reading up on it. So far this is what I know...

it is a ring that is inserted into the vagina....that has hormones that release while in your vagina. You leave it in for 3 weeks take it out to have a period then insert it back in after a week.

So....any info and if any of you have any experience with it....not sure if it is even OUT yet....I would LOVE to hear from you. Send links tooo! if any of you decide to look it up and find something interesting!

This is as far as I have gotten on my research.

now...off I go to continue my search. ....

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526 2728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags