Sep. 2nd, 2003

So..

Sep. 2nd, 2003 12:41 am
[identity profile] ex-hechicera900.livejournal.com
This has had me wondering for a while...I'd search through this journal but I really don't have the patience, so if this has been posted before, I apologize.

I was told by a friend that the birth control shot (depo..? I keep forgetting the name) is only good/will only work for women under a certain weight and that it doesn't really work at all for anyone over 140 or 150 lbs. (I might have the weight wrong but it was in the general area). I weigh 190..and I've been considerign getting this shot for a while, but hearing that, ehh..I don't know.

I just wanted to know if that was true or if she was pulling my chain. Can lil fatties like me get the shot (and have it actualy do it's job)? :\

Thanks in advance...
[identity profile] jemini602.livejournal.com
Will having diabetes effect a pregnancy test?
[identity profile] demriparrott.livejournal.com
Yet another Ortho Tryclen question.....

How soon after I begin taking it am I protected from pregnancy?
[identity profile] mangofandango.livejournal.com
This morning I had my 5-week checkup with the doctor who inserted my IUD. Actually, it was supposed to be a 5-week checkup, but she had to bump it back to the 4th week because she's going to have her baby any minute. Heh. :)

So, as I reported to her, here's how the past 4 weeks have gone:

I had had my period for 2 days when I got the Mirena inserted. I continued to bleed for a week afterwards, and I had cramps about that long, too. (I took the Vicodin she gave me for the first 2 or 3 nights after the insertion, in order to sleep cramp-free). I spotted for the 2nd week, and then stopped. I'm just starting to cramp a bit again, and I'm having a teeny bit of old blood and tissue come out, but no actual fresh period yet. I think I might be working up to one, though, based on the new cramps and the new (old) spotting.

I had trouble reaching the strings at first, but I think I've figured it out now. For the past week or so they've been easier to reach because my cervix is low (another reason I think I might get a period soon). At first, we could both feel them during sex, which was a little annoying, but now they seem to have softened, because I don't notice them anymore. Ryan says he still feels them, but that they aren't bothersome or pokey in any way, and they seem to be curling up more now.

As for the effects of changing from Mirecette to this - I notice I've been having some mood swings lately, but I've also been more stressed than usual (school starting, working, etc.) and it's still only the first month, so I'm not too worried about that. Other effects have been good - I had one migraine in the first week, but that was probably estrogen withdrawal (just like if I'd been on the placebos of my pill), and no migraines and only a couple of mild headaches since. My sex drive is in good shape (although it was on Mircette, too) and it may have actually gone up.

The doctor took a look and said everything seemed great, and she said she had been wanting to know how it was going, since I'm the youngest patient she's ever given an IUD. She didn't even charge me for the office visit!

I also feel like raving about this doctor one more time - if any of you are in southern RI and looking for an OB/GYN, let me know and I'll tell you where she is and stuff. I would seriously want her to deliver my baby if I'm around here then, and that's a big thing for me. She's been really great - she's open-minded, she actually listens, and she's got more... finesse than other doctors and nurses I've had performing internal exams and stuff - she's very gentle, and there's just something else about the way she does things so that even painful things (like the IUD insertion) are manageable. I've also been really happy with how inclusive and even excited she's been about having my husband come to these appointments with me. I know I mentioned this before, but it's rare that we get to hear about the good doctors and the pleasant experiences, so I thought it was worth mentioning again. :)

Also, if there's anything anyone wants to know about that I didn't mention, please let me know.
[identity profile] withevrylite.livejournal.com
Hey everyone! I need your help in choosing my next vibrator. I have two, but they are too small. Like, width-wise. I never put it inside, it doesn't do much for me, but I would like one that's bigger. Ya know what I mean. I have the Fukuoku one and another one, a little wider than a finger. So, I want a wider one. I would also like one that's waterproof and not too loud. Any ideas? I'm gonna look at some online sex stores but I just though I would check here to see if anyone had one they liked that fits the description. Oh, and I don't want one that looks just like a penis. Scary. :P Thanks!
[identity profile] belle-mort.livejournal.com
I am not sure if this is just me being silly or what. Do IUD's set off metal detectors in the airport? I know they are made of copper but I am not sure if that would set it off or not. That could be really embarrassing and rather difficult to prove.

Nuva Ring

Sep. 2nd, 2003 02:26 pm
[identity profile] hot-kachina.livejournal.com
Hello ladies, i know there has been much discussion on NuvaRing, But i dont believe my concerns have really been addressed. This is a very personal question so i hope i dont offend anyone. I remember reading on this board how some people and their partners did not feel the ring at all and how for others it was painful when having sex. I was just curious since i am going to be trying NuvaRing (i'm the girl whos body dislikes BC) i was curious to know if the women who had experienced painful sex, had men that were above average? I'm sorry if this was an inappropriate question to post. But i was just curious because if thats the case there is no point in me getting on the NuvaRing.
Thanks so much!
[identity profile] rockstarbob.livejournal.com
Hello to my fellow Vulva-Loving Superstars! Bob here with a word from your friendly neighborhood admin.

Some of you may have noticed that there are some glitches with some of the links in the Archive over at VP.com; we're doing a major overhaul of that portion of the website right now and hope to have it up and running (with a pretty new makeover to boot) ASAFP. It's a big project so please bear with us.

As membership continues to increase -- which is totally rad, by the way -- our needs as a community grow and change, too. We want to do our best to accommodate all that. It's our aim to keep this place lubed up and running smooth (pun intended).

Tell me more, Bob! )
kalijean: (Default)
[personal profile] kalijean
I've seen a lot of questions regarding shaving the pubic area and the problems that go with it.

I've noticed that after a few years of shaving, my skin no longer suffers red bumps. It seems to be adjusted to regular shaving, and it doesn't irritate as it used to.

Has anyone else noticed this? Do you still bump up even after years of shaving?

Hello

Sep. 2nd, 2003 09:53 pm
[identity profile] ladythantoz.livejournal.com
I recently joined this community and have been reading through several of the entries. I noticed that there are several questions about how to treat a UTI. I have suffered from these several times over the years. Unfortunately I don't have any warning symptoms. I just wake up and feel like I'm peeing fire and razor blades.If you've had one then you know what I mean. I discovered that there is an over the counter UTI pain releiver called AZO Standard. This stuff is an absolute god send! It does not cure the infection but it takes away that horrible burning and urgency until you can get a prescription.The only side effect is that you have bright neon orange pee. So don't wear any good undies while your on it. It does stain! AZO also supplies cranberry pills to prevent a UTI and test strips you can use at home that tell you if you have an infection or not. Hope this helps some of you.
[identity profile] pinkie-kat.livejournal.com
What's the difference between starting the pill on the Sunday after your period or within the 24 hours of getting your period? Is there a better method?

My gyno told me to do the Sunday start, but I'm becoming antsy. However, I was planning on being extra careful and still waiting the month after starting the cycle before having sex without a condom (the package insert says when you do the immediate start, you can immediately have unprotected sex, if I'm not mistaken.)

So, what do you girls think?

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526 2728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags