finding_helenaI know that this is not a debate community, but I've felt compelled to respond to some recent posts that have criticized the Pill on medical grounds. I do not mean to criticize any individual members of this community with this post, but rather to speak about a general political movement that I have seen some snippets of.
There are some people who say that maintenance drugs like the Pill are pushed by some medical professionals because it's "easier" to take them than it is to have cramps/your period/whatever, and no mention is made of the side effects. I believe that there is some truth to this statement. However, I do not believe that this is the whole story. The Pill is not a bad thing for all women, and not all women will choose to use natural methods of birth control/moderating physical problems, even if information is available to them on these natural methods.
Many of the people who are pushing women to realize that the Pill oppresses them do not take this into account. Their attitude appears to be that if women are made aware of the problems with the Pill, they will all realize that it is evil. To this end, they exaggerate problems that people have had with the Pill. They call this line pro-woman, as if scaring women into believing that the medical establishment is out to get them is a valid way to persuade us that we should listen to their gospel. I am not denying that there are women who have had serious medical problems while on the Pill, and that there are also women who simply don't want to take it for whatever reason. I believe that these women's voices should be respected and not minimized. However, there are many other women who have had few or no problems and are not bothered by taking the Pill. There are also women who are helped by taking the Pill--those with debilitating cramps, PCOS, or those who simply do not wish to get pregnant and don't want to use the fertility awareness method or other birth control methods.
Frankly, I am just plain turned off by a movement that implies that all women who take the Pill do so because they don't realize their options, aren't educated, and are pushed into it by evil doctors. I am not ignorant, stupid, or out of touch with my "true inner self" (which means something different to each person, too.) I am perfectly well-educated, researched all of my options, thought about it a lot, and eventually decided to take the Pill because I believe that the benefits outweigh the problems. I have also had only minor problems on the Pill, but if I began to have bigger ones, I wouldn't curse the medical establishment--I would simply rethink my decision. The types of articles that I've seen posted in this community lately imply that no woman would take the Pill were she to be clearheaded and have her eyes open to the whole truth about it. I am living proof that that is not the case.
I believe that a truly pro-women line would take all methods and ways of life into account. I would like to see a movement to educate women about the real consequences of their birth control decisions--all of them. I would like to see a movement that has a comfortable space for women who want to chart their cycles and tune in to their hormonal fluctuations, but also for women who don't really care (with an explanation of why they might want to care, but acceptance if they still don't want to anyway.) The truth is that neither the medical establishment nor those who claim that it is evil are entirely right. Both lines of thinking have their problems. I believe that there could be a happy medium in which knowledge is advanced, not blind following of any dogma, be it pro-Pill or anti-Pill. I would like to see medicine (any system of medicine) used less as a religion and more as a tool we can utilize as we see fit. I would like to see women sharing knowledge with each other and respecting each other's choices, rather than dismissing them because "obviously she's ignorant of the truth, which only I know!"
If we tell women that the only way of being in touch with their femininity is not to take the Pill, we are as bad as the patriarchy and any ways that they try to define femininity. Respect for, and information on, women's choices should be the order of the day.