i went to india for six weeks. india is a so called "developing" country as you may know. if you live in a so called "developed" country and take a trip to a "developing" country you have to take certain health percautions, and also your diet is going to change. now. my diet of course was much different there, but not so much different. i'm vegan, and i found ample vegan food there, enough to be healthy, though it wasn't as much variety as i'm used to. it was different food and different spices and all, but i ate enough. i also drank bottled water the whole time. i did have to take antibiotics the whole time for anti-malaria medication, and i did get sick (traveller's diarreah with fever etc) once which is expected when you go to a "developing country" and had to take antibiotics for that too, but only for a week. other than that i felt and seemed fine for the whole six weeks.
here's the thing:
i arrived back a couple weeks ago. my period is three weeks late and showing no signs of coming. this is extremely unusual for me. my period always comes on time. i've been vegan for a long time and have always had normal health (what i'm saying is, its not anemia or something.) i have had sex but there's really no feasible way i could be pregnant. to be sure i have taken 2 pregnancy tests anyways, because i'm paranoid, and they were both negative. i'm otherwise healthy, or so it seems. i went to a doctor for a regular checkup. she said if anything funny came up in my blood work she'd call me, and she hasn't called me.
what the hell is going on here?
has anyone else had a similar experience?
here's the thing:
i arrived back a couple weeks ago. my period is three weeks late and showing no signs of coming. this is extremely unusual for me. my period always comes on time. i've been vegan for a long time and have always had normal health (what i'm saying is, its not anemia or something.) i have had sex but there's really no feasible way i could be pregnant. to be sure i have taken 2 pregnancy tests anyways, because i'm paranoid, and they were both negative. i'm otherwise healthy, or so it seems. i went to a doctor for a regular checkup. she said if anything funny came up in my blood work she'd call me, and she hasn't called me.
what the hell is going on here?
has anyone else had a similar experience?
no subject
Date: 2004-08-07 04:38 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2004-08-07 06:09 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2004-08-07 06:31 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2004-08-07 06:33 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2004-08-07 06:51 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2004-08-09 08:44 am (UTC)i figure it probably has to do with my body just being shocked, in a new situation, etc. also maybe the malaria medication...
it's good to know i'm not the only one this has happened to though... maybe my period is just skipping this month and i'll get it again in a week...