Colposcopy

Aug. 3rd, 2003 07:39 am
[identity profile] pebele.livejournal.com posting in [community profile] vaginapagina
[livejournal.com profile] tyrsalvia asked what happened in a colposcopy, so I figured I would oblige and write up sort of a step-by-step thing. I'll jsut it as it may get long, and some people may wish to skim over. I will be as graphic as possible, so be warned.

after having an abnormal pap usually your doctor will ask you to come back in a couple months to see if it's still there. apparently there are a number of things that can cause some cells to come back abnormal, and usually this clears up on it's own. however, after your second abnormal pap in a couple months generally you will need to have further tests.

they sent a sample of my abnormal cells to be tested for HPV, which came back negative. so they told me to make an appointment with a gynocologist for the colopscopy. (I went to my GP for my pap).

for the colposcopy it starts off similiar to a normal pap, except that they use a longer speculum and they spread your vaginal opening wider. they also use a microscope-type thing to see your cervix. it looks like one of those telescopes that you see at tourist attractions sometimes, kind of imposing.

once you are spread open, which was uncomfortable, but not exactly painful as I wasn't used to being spread that wide, they put a vinegar solution on the cervix. this makes the abnormal cells appear white through the microscope, so they know what to take samples of. the solution caused some more discomfort, almost a bit of a burning sensation.

at this point my gyno informed me that I did have an area of abnormal cells and that a biopsy would be necessary. I did not see the tool that they used for the biopsy, but my fiance did, and he described it as a long pair of tweezers with a pistol grip handle.

the gyno told the nurse to prepare a sample jar and she inserted the tweezers, told me to cough, and squeezed the handle. that's when it really hurt. the tweezers remove part of the cervix. she told me that it "should feel no worse than a menstrual cramp", but that was a lie. I've had awful cramps. this was not a cramp. this was sharp pain. sharp pain in an area that does not generally feel sharp pain.

I actually cried a little, but it wasn't like "OHMYGOD I"m going to die", it was sort of the pain mixed with my own fear about what could be wrong.

after that she called out the area where the sample came from (12 o'clock) and told me that that part was done. she let me calm down a minute before applying some antiseptic that also served to slow the bleeding. it looked like mustard and she told me that it would leak out over the next few days and may look like coffee grounds, so not to worry.

she removed the speculum and told me that I could get up when I was ready. I'm not supposed to use a tampon or have penetrative sex for 2 weeks.

she left me a panty-liner and told me that my results would take a week or two, and that she'd call to let me know.

the pain faded after about 5 minutes to more of a dull throb that spiked when I walked. I got dressed and went home, where I took some ibuprofen. all Friday night I spotted on and off and leaked out yellow goo. by Saturday afternoon I was no longer bleeding and when I wipe sometimes a bit of coffee ground looking stuff will come away. I've also noticed that I smell stronger.

all in all, it's definitely not fun, and it is painful. but the pain doesn't last for very long, I was feeling almost 80% better by Saturday morning.

I hope that helps.

Date: 2003-08-03 05:14 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mistdragon.livejournal.com
Not the best experience in the world, is it? I'm glad you made it out okay, and I was very happy to hear they let your boyfriend come back with you. If you end up having to go for the LEEP next and want someone's personal account of how it happens, let me know. It sounds a lot worse than what it feels like.

Date: 2003-08-03 08:22 am (UTC)
geminigirl: (Default)
From: [personal profile] geminigirl
I think mine was more emotionally painful than physically. Physically, I felt better by that evening...my doctor had told me to douche to get some of the solution out if I wanted to, and to wear a pad. My Mom took me...she asked if I wanted anything on the way home and I told her that I wanted soft vanilla ice cream and wonton soup. I ate the ice cream first so it didn't melt, ate the soup and went to sleep for the rest of the day. Mine was on a Friday, so I spent the rest of the weekend at my parents, and when home Sunday night or Monday morning...

The waiting for results part was awful though.

Date: 2003-08-03 06:36 pm (UTC)
geminigirl: (Default)
From: [personal profile] geminigirl
Yeah, it's pretty awful. The best thing to do is just go back to your normal life as much as you can and just wait. They told me a week, when I hadn't heard in ten days and I called, they said "Oh, we mailed you a letter with your results."

It sucked. I hated the doctor who did mine, and switched doctors shortly after.

Date: 2003-08-03 02:42 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tyrsalvia.livejournal.com
Thanks for posting this. I hope I never need one of these, but it's nice to know what they are from someone who's had one in case I ever do.

Date: 2003-08-03 04:09 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] miyyu.livejournal.com
I second that. Good luck, I hope your results are good ones!

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526 2728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags